Coastal Impact Assistance Program

Coastal Impact Assistance Program

Program Name: Coastal Impact Assistance Program

Resource Type: State

State: Alabama, Gulf of Mexico

Agency: Program Source: Grant

Description: The Energy Policy Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-58) was signed into law by President Bush on August 8, 2005. Section 384 of the Act establishes the Coastal Impact Assistance Program (CIAP), which authorizes funds to be distributed to Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) oil and gas producing States for the conservation, protection and preservation of coastal areas, including wetlands. The CIAP legislation appropriated $250 million per year for fiscal years 2007 through 2010 to be distributed among eligible producing States and the coastal political subdivisions. The State of Alabama is one of six states eligible to receive CIAP funding. In addition to Alabama, other CIAP recipient states include: Alaska, California, Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas.